Comelec set to name dominant political party Created on January 24, 2013, 7:06 am Posted by nup

MANILA, Philippines - Which one will be named the dominant political party in May?

It’s a toss-up between the ruling Liberal Party (LP) and the opposition United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).

In a resolution, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has asked the 10 major political parties and two major local parties to file a verified petition for accreditation as the dominant majority or minority party.

Under the poll automation law, the dominant majority and dominant minority parties shall get two original copies of election returns (ER) from the Comelec. The parties will also get electronically transmitted precinct results.

Printed copies of the ERs and certificates of canvass (COCs) shall also be given to the 10 accredited major national and local parties.

The official poll watchers of these parties will be given priority at cramped precincts.

The status of the political parties shall be determined based on their performance in previous elections, including the number of members who won elective posts.

Also to be considered is the ability of a party to field a complete slate of candidates from the municipal level to the senate race.

In the 2010 elections, the Lakas-Kampi-CMD party was declared as the dominant majority party while the LP was the dominant minority party. Many Lakas members have since transferred to either the LP or UNA.


Email to: